We encourage new members to post a short introduction of themselves in this Christian forum category. Get to know each other and share your common interests or tell us what church you go to etc.

A disciple of Christ

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A disciple of Christ

Being an ‘independent’ disciple of Jesus Christ (also an independent engineer in electronics), I used not expecting being well understood, spiritually speaking, even by believers in Jesus. Let us see if I am imagining things or not ;)

I guess you already deduced from the word “independent” that I don’t belong to any denomination in the world. For instance, I mean by a “denomination” an organized Christian group based on certain rules and rituals.
    The word “disciple” refers here to its meaning, as translated on the Arabic Gospel, which is “student”. So, in other words, I am a student of Jesus Christ.
    The last statement describes, to me in the least, Jesus Christ as a teacher. In fact, Jesus is, also to me, my Perfect Divine Teacher. But before going on in this direction, I think... I better talk about “faith” first (as I see it, of course) then about the teacher and his student.

I noticed during my rather long life (more than 6 decades) there are two kinds of faith; a passive faith and active faith.
    An example of a passive faith is like a person having faith in science. As we know, having faith in science doesn’t imply that the believer is a scientist. In this case, he may just trust whatever is said in the name of science by one or more scientists.
    An example of an active faith is when a person has faith in something to happen which is likely very important to him or someone else. This sort of faith exists and gives fruits (I had my personal experiences of it) though it is not recognized in science.