We encourage new members to post a short introduction of themselves in this Christian forum category. Get to know each other and share your common interests or tell us what church you go to etc.

Hello from the Philippines

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from the Philippines

Hello everyone.

I am a semi retired professional that decided two years ago I had had enough of the rat race. I felt it was time to do something worthwhile with my life and settled on the Philippines.

I have been here nearly a year now and have found the experience daunting, challenging and incredibly rewarding. I have connected with other like minded souls here and we are actively working towards improving the lot of homeless children and other disadvantaged groups at a community level.
    We call ourselves The Masaya Project which is Tagalog for happiness.

I am not an active member of any church, although I was raised Methodist and believe in a higher power. I suppose over the last few months I have come to question more and more the place of the church in developing countries. It's mostly Catholic here and from what I have seen it has been at the expense of the countries culture.
    The majority of Filipinos are incredibly poor, yet remain kind, humerous and full of the joys of life . Many of the Christian based outreach and aid programs we deal with do a huge amount of good, but it comes with a price tag, The active conversion of those they help.

My apologies for the long winded introduction. I suppose you could say I have come here for opinions and answers. I am a firm believer in allowing everyone to choose their own path in life, whether that be God or Allah or Bhuddha. If it's okay with the forum I would love to post a few questions here over the next few weeks and look forward to your opinions.

Kind regards
    Robert

Welcome Robert
    Comment>

Glad you're here Robert, hope we all have great conversations.
      Comment>