Offer comprehensive advice on almost any subject from Christianity through to the Bible, sex, dating, singleness and marriage, ect...

Questions About Books & Movies

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions About Books & Movies

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum, and in many ways to the Christian life. I've described myself as a re-convert because I was always a Christian, but I was not raised in Christianity and have really mixed up, patchy training in it. But really, there's a ton I don't know because I've never had true community.

Anyway, I'm concerned about a few things, and some of the responses I've seen from members on another forum are kind of freaking me out. And NO ONE could give me any reasoning behind most of their answers, leaving me worse than I started out because their strong but unfounded opinions disquieted me without giving me much (when anything) to work with using my God-given reason. I'll post most of what I posted there.

(Re: LOTR, Harry Potter, horror movies, and the like)

I'm really confused about these things. Do they really let demons into your life? How/why? And how can you tell what's bad from what's OK? (Discernment, I know, but I'm sick and in a terrible mental fog as a result, so it'll be a while until I can be clear-headed enough to pray effectively about this...and I've been increasingly besieged with temptations, etc...I think the devil is trying to get me to make a hasty move in order to shake me and weaken my rooting in God...and eventually lead me astray...which is why I'm resolved not to make any moves now at all until I'm well again, but eventually, at least, I am going to need clear, solid answers to these questions.)