Why Should One Leave Dispensationalism?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Should One Leave Dispensationalism?

Joe Vusich

I graduated from The Master's Seminary, one of the leading Dispensationalist seminaries of our day. It's a fine school, I received a good education there, and I love John MacArthur and the other professors. But as I continued to study theology and the Scriptures after graduating (I was still a Dispensationalist for four years after finishing my studies), I began to see some big problems with the overall system, which left me concluding that Dispensationalism is based on a biblically and theologically unsound method reading of the Bible. I left Dispensationalism behind, and here are some of the more significant reasons why I did:

1. In the way it develops and systematizes its eschatology, Dispensationalism often a) utilizes a wooden and arbitrarily-applied literalism; b) does not adhere to the Reformed hermeneutic of the analogy of faith; and c) often misses how all the Bible points to Christ (promise and fulfillment). Because of these significant hermeneutical errors, Dispensationalism gets bogged down with an obscure, disjointed apprehension of redemptive history, and a faulty understanding of how OT prophecy is fulfilled in Christ (e.g., teaching that there will be bloody animal sacrifices in a future millennium; concern about "unfulfilled land promises;" general lack of Christological focus that leaves Dispensationalists baffled with verses like Matt. 2:15).

2. Dispensationalism artificially organizes redemptive history around dispensations instead of the biblical covenants, which is how the Bible does things.

3. Dispensationalism denies (at least selectively) that the shadows, types, and figures of the Old Testament must be interpreted in the greater light of the New Testament. At times this is flipped on its head, and (according to Dispensationalists) the NT is to be interpreted in light of the OT.